Skip to main content

Young Professionals Advisory Council

Young Professionals Advisory Council

The goal of Houston Audubon's Young Professionals Advisory Council (YPAC) is to engage the next generation of conservationists and to build awareness of Houston Audubon’s mission among young professionals. YPAC members have the chance to make a significant impact in the world of bird conservation and play an important role in enhancing wildlife habitat.

The inaugural Young Professionals Advisory Council kicked off in 2019 during Houston Audubon’s 50th anniversary year with 17 dedicated members. This group of passionate young conservationists launched the first ever Houston Bird Week and successfully ran a contest to determine the official Bird of Houston – the Yellow-crowned Night-Heron. In the second year, the YPAC tackled great challenges with a global pandemic, and helped organize a Bird Week that was mostly virtual. They also began preparations for several other community projects. The concept for the Young Professionals Advisory Council was started by Houston Audubon staff members Zineera Seth and Anna Vallery in late 2018. For any questions about YPAC, please email us at

Please sign up for our YP email list at the bottom of this page if you're interested in YP events or applying for the YPAC.

YPAC 2022 Members

Click on the member's name or photo for their bio.



YPAC Emeritus Members

Thank you to our past YPAC members that have helped us make a difference in bird conservation through hands-on conservation work and public engagement.

Name Years Served
Patrick Bolgren 2019
Daniel Crump 2019
Tony Dang 2019-2020
Claire Everett 2019
Ian Wesley Gapp 2019-2020
Cassidy Kempf 2019-2021
Andrew Martinez 2019-2020
Hannah Muegge 2019
Shantelle Patterson 2019
Christina Neveu 2019
Andy Newman 2019
Taylor Rhoades 2019-2021
Dana Scanes 2019
Amanda Woomer 2019
Marissa Buschow 2020
Paul DiFiore 2020
Chris Hammond 2020
Karastin Katusin 2020
Halli Macdonald 2020-2021
Elise Nishikawa 2020
John Scaramucci 2020-2021
Sheila Scott 2020
Chris Bick 2021
Melissa D'Mello 2021
Hannah Gross 2021