Skip to main content

Field Trips & Travel

Galveston County Audubon Group

The Galveston County Audubon Group (GCAG) of the Houston Audubon Society was organized in 1998. Conceived by Houston Audubon members, the goal was to provide local birders with access to speakers and activities without the need to travel to Houston. The Galveston County Audubon Group conducts monthly field trips, September through March. In December the field trip is replaced by participation in the Christmas Bird Count. Field trips usually focus on local birding hot spots.

In addition, we hold quarterly meetings jointly with the Galveston Island Nature Tourism Council (GINTC). The meeting are held in the Wortham Auditorium on the first floor at the Rosenberg Library, 7 - 8 PM. We welcome guests to come at 6:30 PM to visit with other birders about their recent outings and sightings before the meeting. Membership is free and meetings and field trips are open to the public. We encourage membership in Houston Audubon Society, but it is not required.

GCAG members assist with Featherfest, Galveston Island State Park and the Galveston Island Nature Tourism Council in leading local birding trips. In the past year, members have been very active in the restoration of Houston Audubon Society's Dos Vacas Muertas Bird Sanctuary, located on the west end of Galveston Island.

Upcoming Events

Saturday, May 20 Big Day: 7:30 AM - 1 PM

Join GCAG birding leaders for a modified Big Day field trip. The day will begin at the East End of the Seawall at 7:30 AM and will end at 1:00 PM with a picnic lunch at Alice Anne O'Donell's place. Depending on where the birds are, some of the possible stops are Corps Woods, Pelican Island,  Woody's/Pocket Park #2, Moody Gardens, and 8 Mile Road. Learn about the birds that are still left on the island beaches, woodlots and marshes. See our breeding birds in their striking bill and leg colors, fancy feathers and breeding plumage. Bring your favorite picnic lunch and after the field trip, we'll enjoy fellowship and birding in Alice Anne's yard and from her decks.



2016-2017 Officers